The Aga Khan Academy, Mombasa celebrates its fourth graduation ceremony

12 June 2010

Thirty-five International Baccalaureat students, today graduated from the Aga Khan Academy in Mombasa

The Class of 2010, 35 International Baccalaureat students, today graduated from the Aga Khan Academy in Mombasa. This is the Academy’s fourth cohort of graduates. The ceremony was attended by Director of the network of Aga Khan Academies, Salim Bhatia, as well as keynote speaker, Ms. Nurjehan Mawani, Representative of the Aga Khan Development Network (AKDN) in Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic, where a future Aga Khan Academy will be built in coming years. Also attending is the Director General of the International Baccalaureate, Mr. Jeffrey Beard.

This year, Aga Khan Academy graduates have been awarded university scholarships, such as the University of British Columbia’s International Leader of Tomorrow and Humanitarian scholarship, and important scholarships from the University of Reading, valued so far this year at a total of around 40 million KSh (half a million US$). Graduates have also gained admission to other outstanding universities including a number of top UK universities, McGill University, the National University of Singapore, and the University of Pennsylvania, one of the American Ivy League institutions. It is to be noted that both the UBC scholarship recipients and many other successful graduates have been supported under the financial aid programmes while studying at the Academy.

Families, students, faculty and guests had the pleasure of listening to two renderings by the school choir (student and faculty) and a reception was held after the ceremony.

To read the speeches: click below:
- Nurjehan Mawani's Keynote Address
- Salim A.L. Bhatia's Welcoming Remarks

Graduating Class
Abbas Samira, Abdulhusein Zulfequar, Abdalla Muzamil, Balala Aalawy, Budhdeo Priyanka, Bhaijee Farrah, Bugu Ali, Chebukati Rachel, Gilani Nushare, Jaffer Zain, Kanani Shaheera, Khaki Shahidali, Koorjee Imran, Korla Varun, Matofu Samira, Mitha Aly, Morjaria Shiv, Mulwa Michelle, Mwangari Omar, Mwanza Rebekah, Namboze Rhoda, Ngala Michael, Radier Geoffrey, Rashid Adil, Parpia Hafsa, Rose Jason, Salyani Fahima, Salyani Yasin, Shah Rachita, Sheikh Sarra, Vaghela Devangikunver, Vikram Anant, Wesa David, Waliji Munira, Yusuf Sarah.

This website uses cookies
Cookies are small text files held on your computer. They allow us to give you the best browsing experience possible and mean we can understand how you use our site.
Some cookies have already been set. You can delete and block cookies but parts of our site won't work without them.
By using our website you accept our use of cookies.
No, I want to find out more Yes, I agree